Skip Navigation

Washington County Teacher of the Year Nominee List to be Narrowed to Finalists

HAGERSTOWN, MD (March 10, 2011) – A group of 33 educators nominated for 2011-2012 Washington County Teacher of the Year is being narrowed to a list of finalists.  The finalists will be announced mid-March, leading to the announcement of the teacher of the year at the annual awards dinner on April 27, 2011 at Fountain Head Country Club.  Nominations were received from teachers, students, administrators, parents and other citizens.  According to Maryland State Teacher of the Year guidelines, a nominee must be a full-time teacher who spends the majority of his or her time teaching students, have a minimum of five years experience, and remain in a teaching position during the school following the nomination.

The county teacher of the year program is sponsored by the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce Foundation, in cooperation with Washington County Public Schools.  Nominees enter the judging process by submitting essay responses and background information. A panel of judges with representatives from education, business and industry, and the community reviews and scores the nominations before deciding on the finalists.  The judges then continue their review of the finalists, including interviews and classroom visits.

Marjorie Kellman from Washington County Technical High School has represented Washington County as Teacher of the Year for the past year.

The complete list of nominees follows:

Lara Amtower - Hancock Middle/Senior High

Michael Maginnis - Antietam Academy

Sally Bacon - Old Forge Elementary

Stacy Maginnis - Smithsburg Middle

Jaclyn Chaney - Fountaindale Elementary

Julie McGee - Potomac Heights Elementary

Marsha Flowers - Hancock Elementary

Tonya Meadows - Boonsboro Middle

Allen Haines - Boonsboro Middle

Tiffany Miles - Rockland Woods Elementary

Debbie Henry - Hancock Elementary

Gultilsim Newman - Pangborn Elementary

David Herbert - Smithsburg Middle

Adam Ocasek - Smithsburg Middle

Laura Hose - Hancock Elementary

Michael Pavlik - Conococheague Elementary

Pearle Howell - Smithsburg Middle

Sherry Rhoton - Williamsport High

Sally Irwin – Washington County Technical High

Martha Ridenour - Smithsburg High

Kimberly Janifer - North Hagerstown High

Lora Roth - Smithsburg Middle

Tina Jenkins - E. Russell Hicks Middle

Amber Sheffler – South Hagerstown High

Susan Knable - Hancock Elementary

Ayako Shiga - Boonsboro High

Sue Laird - Eastern Elementary

Emlynn Shives - Hancock Middle/Senior High

Rossana Larrick – Washington County Technical High

Kelly True - Pangborn Elementary

Rebecca Leverett - Rockland Woods Elementary

Tammy Wilson – Washington County Technical High

Katharine Long, Western Heights Middle

Information for...

Site Information

Related Information