Skip Navigation

Boonsboro High School's We the People Team Set for State Competition on February 7

HAGERSTOWN, MD (February 4, 2011) – The Boonsboro High School team has been preparing for the state We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution competition, to be held Monday, February 7, 2011, in Annapolis. Boonsboro advanced to the state competition after finishing in first place in the 6th Congressional District event against teams from Clear Spring, South Hagerstown and St. Maria Goretti high schools.

The state competition pits teams from each congressional district in Maryland. The winning team advances to the National We the People event in Washington, DC, April 29 – May 2, 2011.

We the People is a program that promotes civic competence and responsibility among students, helping them understand the history and principles of the Constitution and discover the relevance of the Constitution and Bill of Rights in present day terms. The competition involves simulated congressional hearings in which students testify before a panel of judges, demonstrating their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles.

The Boonsboro team is comprised of Carlie Anderson, Lauran Barrett, Megan Deckert, Moriah DeMartino, Dominick DiMercurio, Jaclyn Fiola, Rodney Flora, Jillian Gaulding, Taylor Gigeous, Aurelie King, Lana McDowell, Zac McGee, Ben McNamee, Amy Moore, Brandon Poholchuk, Jacob Reinhart, Erin Scally, Becca Smith, and Chuck Zang.

Information for...

Site Information

Related Information