Skip Navigation

2010 Service Learning Senior Honor Night on April 28 at BOE

HAGERSTOWN, MD (April 26, 2010) – Senior students of the Washington County Public Schools (WCPS) who have achieved at least twice the number of required student service learning hours for graduation will be recognized at Service Learning Senior Honor Night on Wednesday, April 28, 2010, at 7 p.m. at the Board of Education auditorium on Commonwealth Avenue, Hagerstown. 

Ninety students have earned 150 or more hours, led by Christian Midgett at Boonsboro High School, who has also been nominated for recognition by the Maryland State Department of Education for earning 706 service learning hours.  Christy served as a mentor/tutor at the elementary school level and spent time at summer camp for underprivileged children and children with disabilities. 

Other leaders in hours earned were Megan Long, also from Boonsboro High, who served as a mentor/tutor daily for four years at Boonsboro Elementary School, for a total of 603 hours, and Chelsea and Dustin Jack, siblings at Washington County Technical High School, earned 610 and 686 hours respectively, serving in their church nursery.

WCPS service learning coordinator Sharon Chirgott says the honored students represent a significant display of hard work, generosity and dedication.  “These students contributed a tremendous number of service hours to the community and in some cases to those far less fortunate than themselves.  We know these young people will make similar contributions to the communities where they will live after graduation.”          

Barbara Ingram School of Fine Arts

Brent D. Baker
Sheridan M. Webb

Boonsboro High School

William T. Atkins
Alexa B. Castle
Andrew E. Hoffman
Morgan M. Hoffmaster
Rebecca A. Hull
Joshua N. Lois
Megan K. Long
Chad D. Love
Andrew A. Lowery
Christian N. Midgett
Anna E. Olszewski
Emily S. Printz
Laurin T. Smith
Leah E. Strong
Jessica R. Van Fleet
Kellen A. Weeks
Timothy A. Winebrenner

Clear Spring High School

John M. Malnofski
Joshua M. Snyder

Hancock Sr. High School

Tiffany A. Arnett
Hannah L. Creek
Nicklas L. Harvey

North Hagerstown HS

Dominique E. Adams
Nijia W. Anderson
Dominique L. Burford
Paige V. Devore
Amber A. Elliott
Elizabeth L. Kramer
Andrew D. Krehbiel
Gregory D. Lynn
Juanita M. Myers
Sharayah T. Nason
Matthew R. Pettit
Heather A. Rudisill
Kendra R. Smith
Stephanie A. Smith

Smithsburg High School

Anna M. Baldasarre
Shannen L. Banzhoff
Abigail L. Bauer
Taryn E. Delauney
Ashley M. Ferguson
Emily A. Hargreaves
Ashley A. Jeter
Jessica E. Kelly
Sabrina R. Madsen
Matthew J. McCreary
Sean P. Mcauley
Nicholas R. Minnick
Rebekah P. Minnick
Slexander T. Sweeney

Job Development Center

Sean S. Crist
David W. King
Zachary R. Leaman

South Hagerstown HS

Mary K. Blandford
Jason A. Camarano
Ryan A. David
Jesse C. Dingle
Justin M. Gandee
Kelsey E. Jarvis
Erin A. Meyer
Sarah Riley
Stephanie L. Rossiter
Dulaney S. Williams
Devin R. Witman

Washington County Technical High School

Anastasia M. Broadus
Katie L. Coffman
Jauhara M. Downie
Alec B. Fouke
Stephanie M. Hart
Chelsea L. Jack
Dustin R. Jack
Philip G. Mayhue
John M. Mazzola
Reba L. Morris

Williamsport High School

Richard A. Baker
Chelsey L. Baturin
Kalyn R. Berry
Justin A. Bowie
Anastasia E. Gaines
Elizabeth A. Grebenstein
Rachel A. Moeller
Zachary A. Sauble
Tiffany L. Sellers
Kaylyn C. Smith
Shannon R. Sullivan
Brittany A. Weaver
Lenzie M. Weicht

Information for...

Site Information

Related Information